Abby and Howard Milstein to be Honored by JTS

Press Contact: Nina Jacobson
Office: (212) 678-8950

October 4, 2006, New York, NY

Abby and Howard Milstein, prominent education, business, and philanthropic leaders, will receive the Louis B. Marshall Award at an event in their honor on November 1, 2006 in New York City hosted by The Jewish Theological Seminary.

The Louis B. Marshall Award is presented to individuals who demonstrate the exemplary ethics and philanthropic commitment embodied by Louis Marshall, an esteemed constitutional lawyer and former Board Chair of JTS. Joan and Sanford I. Weill are Honorary Chairs; Irma and Paul Milstein are Dinner Chairs. Dinner Co–Chairs include Carol and Gershon Kekst, Nancy and Morris W. Offit, and Sandra Edelman and Rabbi Burton L. Visotzky.

"We admire and support the work of the JTS," stated Howard and Abby Milstein. Howard Milstein is Chief Executive Officer of Emigrant Bank, the largest privately owned bank in the country. He also leads his family's real estate business as Managing Partner of Milstein Properties, and is the founding Chairman of the merchant bank, FriedbergMilstein, and of MB Real Estate. A supporter of an array of philanthropic activities, he chairs the New York Blood Center and the American Skin Association.

At Cornell University, Milstein serves as Trustee Emeritus, Presidential Counselor, and on its Investment Committee. He is also a member of the Cornell Medical College's Board of Overseers; a member of the Advisory Board of the College of Arts and Sciences; and a founding member of the Cornell Club of New York City. A member of the Board of UJA–Federation, New York, where he chairs its Jewish Leadership Forum, he has also served for more than twenty years on the Board of the Jewish Association for Services to the Aged. Milstein received a bachelor of arts degree, summa cum laude in economics from Cornell University, and earned law and business degrees from Harvard.

Abby Milstein is a partner in the law firm of Constantine Cannon, P.C. A Trustee of The New York Public Library where she co–chairs the Committee on Library Policy and numerous other committees, she formerly co–chaired the New York State Regents Commission on Library Services. A Commissioner of the New York City Art Commission, Abby Milstein also chairs the Board of the New York Legal Assistance Group, serves as a Trustee of the Riverdale Country School, and is a member of the Women's Campaign Board of the American Jewish Committee. Abby Milstein is a magna cum laude graduate of Harvard University (Radcliffe) where she was elected to Phi Beta Kappa, and a cum laude graduate of Harvard Law School.

The Milsteins both serve on the Harvard Law School Dean's Advisory board, and each served for a decade on the Board of the Jewish Museum.

Event reservations will be accepted through Monday, October 23. Further information, including table and ticket options, is available by contacting Jordan Chattman at (212) 678–8805.

Editors/Reporters: To cover the Louis Marshall Dinner, please contact Sherry Kirschenbaum in the Department of Communications at (212) 678–8953; or email.

Founded in 1886 as a rabbinical school, The Jewish Theological Seminary today is the academic and spiritual center of Conservative Judaism worldwide, encompassing a world–class library and five schools. JTS trains tomorrow's religious, educational, academic and lay leaders for the Jewish community and beyond.

Visit the JTS website at