JTS Board of Trustees Elects Five New Members

Press Contact: Eve Glasberg
Office: (212) 678-8089
Email: evglasberg@jtsa.edu

October 7, 2010, New York, NY

The Board of Trustees of The Jewish Theological Seminary (JTS) has elected five new members: Robert Jossen, Jonathan Lopatin, Steven Price, Jehuda Reinharz, and Keith Shapiro.

“We are indeed fortunate to have the collective insight and experience that our new members bring to the board,” says Abby Joseph Cohen, chair of JTS’s Board of Trustees. “As JTS nears its 125th anniversary, we are discovering innovative ways to educate the next generation of clergy, scholars, teachers, and lay leadership, and to increase the opportunities for study by all members of the community—including those beyond our traditional student body. Our new board members will help enormously with our outreach efforts.”

“JTS is honored by the addition of these members to its board, all of whom care passionately about this institution and its mission,” says Professor Arnold Eisen, chancellor of JTS. “They will be a great asset to us as we move forward with the realization of our 2010 strategic plan, adding wisdom to our deliberations and broadening awareness of JTS in their home communities and constituencies.”

Robert Jossen is a partner at Dechert, LLP, an international law firm specializing in corporate and securities law, complex litigation, real estate, financial services, and asset management. His practice is in corporate securities and white collar criminal defense. Mr. Jossen lives in Scarsdale, New York, and is a past president of Temple Israel Center of White Plains. In May 2009, he received the Judge Simon H. Rifkind Award from JTS, which was established in 1996 in recognition of Judge Rifkind’s exemplary life, distinguished public service, and unstinting devotion to the Jewish community. Mr. Jossen is a member of the JTS Rabbinical School Advisory Board and, for nearly 20 years, has served as the general counsel to the Rabbinical Assembly. He attended Cornell and Columbia universities, and was presented with the Torch of Learning Award by the American Friends of Hebrew University in 1997.

Jonathan Lopatin, who resides in New York City, has advised Chancellor Eisen on issues related to the JTS strategic plan and now serves as co-chair of the strategic plan implementation committee. He is a former partner and managing director of Goldman Sachs, and the founder of Not-So-Simple Productions, a documentary film company that focuses on Jewish educational films. His most recent production was Eyes Wide Open, about the experiences of American Jewish visitors to Israel. In 2009, Mr. Lopatin completed an MA in Talmud at JTS. He is also a graduate of Vassar College and the Columbia University School of International Affairs. Mr. Lopatin is president of the board of directors of the Nesiya Institute, a member of the board of directors of Mechon Hadar, and a former member of the board of overseers at JTS’s Albert A. List College of Jewish Studies. A former board member of the New Israel Fund, he remains active in the fund’s work in support of Jewish pluralism in Israel.

Steven Price is chairman and CEO of Townsquare Media, LLC, which owns and operates radio stations and digital assets in small and midsized markets across the United States. Previously, he was a senior managing director at Centerbridge Partners. Mr. Price lives in Westchester County, New York, and became a supporter of JTS through the study process. He is actively involved with numerous charitable organizations, and serves on several boards, including that of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, where he is a member of the Executive Committee; the Hudson Institute; the Met Council on Jewish Poverty; and the Alpert Medical School and Brown/RISD Hillel at Brown University. Mr. Price is a graduate of Brown University and of the Wexner Heritage Program. He earned his graduate degree at Columbia University.

Jehuda Reinharz will complete his service as seventh president of Brandeis University at the end of the year. He will assume the presidency of the Mandel Foundation in January. His book The Jew in the Modern World: A Documentary History (third edition, 2010) is one of the most widely adopted college texts in modern Jewish history, and his two-volume biography of Chaim Weizmann, the first president of Israel, has won many prizes in Israel and the United States. Dr. Reinharz earned concurrent BAs from JTS’s dual-degree program with Columbia University. He also holds a master’s degree in Medieval Jewish History from Harvard University and a doctorate in Modern Jewish History from Brandeis University. He is the recipient of several honorary doctorates, including ones from JTS, Hebrew Union College, Ben Gurion University, Fairfield University, and the Weizmann Institute of Science. Dr. Reinharz is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the Council on Foreign Relations.

Keith Shapiro is the comanaging shareholder of Greenberg Traurig’s Chicago office and a member of the law firm’s Executive Committee; he also co-chairs the firm’s global business reorganization and bankruptcy practice. He assisted in drafting the health care bankruptcy provisions of the 2005 amendments to the U.S. Bankruptcy Code, and testified before Congress in support of its adoption. A past recipient of JTS’s Judge Simon H. Rifkind Award, Mr. Shapiro has also co-chaired the two most recent annual JTS dinners in Chicago, where he resides. He is a member of numerous advisory boards, including that of List College, from which one of his children graduated last year and another is currently a student. Mr. Shapiro was educated at Emory University and the University of Illinois. He is a vice chairman of the boards of directors of the Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago and the Anti-Defamation League/Upper Midwest Region. He was also the founding chair of the Law and Justice Committee of the United States Holocaust Museum.