JTS Convocation Honors Jewish Educators for Dedicated Service

Press Contact: Eve Glasberg
Office: (212) 678-8089
Email: evglasberg@jtsa.edu

November 4, 2010, New York, NY

The Jewish Theological Seminary (JTS) awarded honorary doctorates to twelve educators at a convocation ceremony held at JTS on November 1, 2010. The honorees, all of whom have served the Jewish community with distinction for many years, are members of the Jewish Educators Assembly, which is celebrating its sixtieth anniversary.

Arnold M. Eisen, chancellor of JTS, delivered the convocation address and presented the degrees; Ilana Davidov delivered remarks on behalf of the honorees. The sponsors of the honorary degree candidates were Barry W. Holtz, dean of JTS’s William Davidson Graduate School of Jewish Education, and Bracha Werber, a member of the school’s advisory board.

The Jewish Educators Assembly is the professional membership association representing a broad range of educators and educational administrators who identify with the Conservative Movement and whose mission is the advancement of Jewish educators and the enhancement of Jewish education in North America.

The honorees included:

Ms. Janice Colmar, education director, Congregation B’nai Israel, Milburn, New Jersey

Ms. Ilana Davidov, education director, Beth El Synagogue Center, New Rochelle, New York

Mrs. Cheryl R. Finkel, senior consultant, Partnership for Excellence in Jewish Education, Atlanta, Georgia

Mr. Steven Freedman, head of school, Hillel Day School of Metropolitan Detroit, Farmington Hills, Michigan

Mr. Jules Gutin, director, United Synagogue Youth, United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism, New York, New York

Dr. Cecile B. Jordan (retired), former executive director, San Diego Agency for Jewish Education, La Jolla, California

Mr. Lawrence Katz, associate executive director, Bureau of Jewish Education of Rhode Island, Providence, Rhode Island

Mr. Marshall Kupchan, education director, Beth Hillel Congregation Bnai Emunah, Wilmette, Illinois

Mrs. Elisabeth Lisette Nayor, teacher, Bet Torah Synagogue, Mount Kisco, New York

Rabbi Jim Rogozen, headmaster, Gross Schechter Day School, Pepper Pike, Ohio

Dr. Mark S. Smiley, director of education, Associated Hebrew Day Schools, Toronto, Ontario

Mrs. Roslyn B. Stein, organizational development consultant, and former head of school, Chicagoland Jewish High School, New York, New York