JTS Scholar Named National Jewish Book Award Winner

Press Contact: Nina Jacobson
Office: (212) 678-8950
Email: nijacobson@jtsa.edu

January 19, 2007, New York, NY

Dr. Shuly Rubin Schwartz, Irving Lehrman Research Associate Professor of American Jewish History and Dean of the Albert A. List College of Jewish Studies at The Jewish Theological Seminary, has been named a 2006 National Jewish Book Award winner for her publication, The Rabbi's Wife: The Rebbetzin in American Jewish Life (NYU Press).

The Rabbi's Wife was recognized in the category of Modern Jewish Thought and Experience. Dr. Schwartz will join other award winners at the 56th Annual National Jewish Book Awards ceremony on Tuesday, March 6 at the Center for Jewish History in New York City.

The Rabbi's Wife examines the role of the rebbetzin over the last century, beginning with a handful of rabbi's wives who emerged as leaders in their own right. Insightful, entertaining and provocative, the books traces the mid–century coalescence of these women into a powerful group who understood the rabbinate as a two–person career, to today's spouses who select specifically defined areas of congregational life in which to become involved.

"I am honored to share this award with all the rabbis' wives in this book. This recognition celebrates the careers of these outstanding women who had a profound impact on the flourishing of American Jewish religious life through their 'unofficial careers' as rabbis' wives," said Dr. Schwartz.

Author of The Emergence of Jewish Scholarship in America: The Publication of the Jewish Encyclopedia (Hebrew Union College Press), Dr. Schwartz lectures widely on the Jewish family, American Jewish life, and Jewish women's studies. She serves on the Academic Council of the American Jewish Historical Society and the academic advisory boards of the Jacob Rader Marcus Center of the American Jewish Archives, Women's League Outlook magazine, the Hadassah Research Institute on Jewish Women, and the Jewish Women's Archive.

A third–generation JTS graduate, Dr. Schwartz received her BA from Barnard College and her MA and PhD from JTS. Other JTS scholars who have won National Jewish Book Awards in the past include Professor Arnold M. Eisen, Rabbi Neil Gillman, Dr. Barry Holtz, Dr. Carol Ingall, Dr. Sharon Keller, Dr. Seth Schwartz, and Dr. Jack Wertheimer.

Editors/Reporters: To schedule an interview with Dr. Schwartz, please contact Sherry S. Kirschenbaum in the Department of Communications at (212) 678–8953 or email.

Founded in 1886 as a rabbinical school, The Jewish Theological Seminary today is the academic and spiritual center of Conservative Judaism worldwide, encompassing a world–class library and five schools. JTS trains tomorrow's religious, educational, academic and lay leaders for the Jewish community and beyond.

Visit the JTS website at www.jtsa.edu.