JTS to Honor Community Leaders at Northern Virginia Tribute Dinner

Press Contact: Nina Jacobson
Office: (212) 678-8950
Email: nijacobson@jtsa.edu

April 15, 2010, Alexandria, VA

The Jewish Theological Seminary (JTS) will honor local community leaders at the 2010 Northern Virginia Tribute Dinner. Rabbi Jack Moline will receive the Rabbi Gerson D. Cohen Rabbinic Leadership Award; Shirley and John Baer, Mike Stein, and Marty Zelman will each receive the Community Service Award; and Michael J. Jacobs will receive the Young Leadership Award. JTS Chancellor Arnold M. Eisen will present the awards. The event will be held at Agudas Achim Congregation, 2908 Valley Drive, Alexandria, Virginia. The program begins at 5:00 p.m. with a strolling buffet dinner.

Jack MolineJack Moline became rabbi of Agudas Achim Congregation in 1987. In addition to his congregational responsibilities, he is director of public policy for the Rabbinical Assembly and serves on the board of the Faith and Politics Institute. He is also a past chair of the board of Interfaith Alliance and a popular speaker on matters both scholarly and humorous. A graduate of Northwestern University, Rabbi Moline was ordained by JTS in 1982. He prefers to be best known as husband of Ann and father of Jennie, Julia, and Max.

John Baer and Shirley BaerJohn Baer and Shirley Resnick Baer have been involved with their chosen synagogues ever since their wedding in 1955. In 1979, Mr. and Mrs. Baer joined Congregation Olam Tikvah (OT), and it has been their beloved synagogue ever since. At OT, John and Shirley have helped to build and tear down the sukkah each year, restore the homes of members who have had financial or physical problems, and start a recycling program at the synagogue and the local JCC.

Mike SteinMike Stein became president of Etz Hayim just five years after joining the congregation in 1991. Rather than retiring at the end of his term, he continued to serve in leadership roles. He is currently vice president of religious affairs, as well as a frequent Torah reader and service leader. Mr. Stein is a senior software engineer with Northrop Grumman.

Marty ZelmanMarty Zelman and his family joined Congregation Beth Emeth in Herndon, Virginia, in 1999, and almost immediately he took on a number of lay leadership positions, including treasurer, executive vice president, and president. Mr. Zelman has also been active in United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism. He recently retired from Northrop Grumman, where he served as an executive in a variety of finance and accounting positions for more than thirty-three years. He and his wife, Debbie, are the proud parents of three sons and a daughter.

Michael JacobsA lifelong member of Congregation Etz Hayim, Michael J. Jacobs served as vice president of religious affairs from 2003 to 2007. This followed several years of active membership on Etz Hayim’s Religious Committee and service on the congregation’s board of directors. A legal adviser to the chief of the Consumer and Governmental Affairs Bureau at the Federal Communications Commission in Washington DC, Mr. Jacobs is a graduate of Duke University and the University of Southern California’s Law Center. He and his wife, Rachel, reside in Silver Spring, Maryland, with their two-year-old daughter, Isabel.

aeArnold M. Eisen, one of the world’s foremost experts on American Judaism, is the seventh chancellor of JTS. Since his inauguration in 2007, Chancellor Eisen has met with world leaders, engaged in prominent interdenominational and interfaith dialogues, and championed a transformation in the education of the next generation of Conservative leadership. Before coming to JTS, Chancellor Eisen was the Koshland Professor of Jewish Culture and Religion at Stanford University. Chancellor Eisen received a PhD in the History of Jewish Thought from Hebrew University.

The couvert for the evening is $125 per person or $72 for those forty years of age and under. For more information, please contact Rickey Goodman, director of JTS Mid-Atlantic Region, at (215) 376-0474 or rigoodman@jtsa.edu.