Louis B. Marshall Award

About the Louis B. Marshall Award

Established in 1956, the Louis B. Marshall Award was conceived to recognize those men and women who demonstrate the exemplary ethics and communal commitment that Louis Marshall embodied. He was an esteemed constitutional lawyer and a prominent figure in the Jewish community, passionately committed to JTS, where he led the board as chairman from 1904 until his death in 1929.

Award Recipients

2012: Elaine and James Wolfensohn

2011: Ruth and Stephen Hendel

2009: Gershon Kekst

2008: Robert S. Kaplan

2007: Jeanette and Joe Neubauer

2006: Abby and Howard Milstein

2005: Laura and Richard D. Parsons

2004: Faculty and Students

2003: Gerald Rosenfeld

2002: Daryl and Steven Roth

2001: Paul Miller

2001: Abby Joseph Cohen

2000: Robert Hurst

2000: Ivan Seidenberg

1999: Robert H. Benmosche

1998: Riki and Stanley Tulin

1997: John Reed

1996: Joanne and Michael Masin

1995: Dr. Sue Bailey and Alex J. Mandle

1994: Nina A. and Walter H. Weiner

1993: Sanford I. Weill

1992: Franklin Thomas

1991: Lester Crown

1990: Gershon Kekst

1989: Martin Lipton

For more information about the Louis B. Marshall Award, contact Marsha Sesskin, National Director of Special Events, at masesskin@jtsa.edu or at (212) 678-8935.