# THE JEWISH THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY 2021 Judge Simon H. Rifkind Virtual Award Luncheon

Honoring

# Faiza Saeed

**Presiding Partner** 

Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

# Steven M. Cohen

Chair

Empire State Development

#### WEDNESDAY, APRIL 14, 2021

Livestream from New York City

# **LUNCHEON CHAIRS**

Evan Chesler, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP
Sharon Cohen Levin, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
Eric Friedman, Skadden Arps Slate Meager & Flom LLP
Jonathan S. Henes, Kirkland & Ellis LLP
Alan Levine, Cooley LLP





## **PROGRAM**

#### **WELCOME**

Sharon Nelles, Partner, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP JTS Board of Trustee

#### JTS VIDEO PRESENTATION

#### **REMARKS**

Dr. Shuly Rubin Schwartz, Chancellor The Jewish Theological Seminary

#### **PRESENTATION OF THE 2021 HONOREES**

Sharon Cohen Levin, Partner, Sullivan & Cromwell LLP

Evan Chesler, Chairman, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

#### IN CONVERSATION

Alan Levine, Partner, Cooley LLP Chair, JTS Board of Trustees

Faiza Saeed, Presiding Partner, Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP 2021 Judge Simon H. Rifkind Award Honoree

Steven M. Cohen, Chair, Empire State Development 2021 Judge Simon H. Rifkind Award Honoree

# 25TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION THE JUDGE SIMON H. RIFKIND AWARD

Photo Montage

#### **CLOSING**

Alan M. Klein, Partner, Simpson, Thacher & Bartlett LLP

JTS Board of Trustee

Faiza Saeed
Presiding Partner, Cravath,
Swaine & Moore LLP

Steven M. Cohen
Chair, Empire State
Development



# **HONOREES**



FAIZA SAEED is the Presiding Partner of Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP. Renowned for her work as an M&A advisor, she has led many of the mergers that have transformed the media industry over the last two decades. Outside of media, she has advised on significant transactions in the biotech, energy, aerospace and consumer products sectors. An engaged philanthropic leader, Ms. Saeed serves as a Trustee of The Paley Center and NewYork-Presbyterian, on the Board of Directors of the Partnership for New York City, The Paley Foundation and The March of Dimes (NY Chapter), and she is a member of The Council on Foreign Relations, The Economic Club of New York and the New York Women's

Foundation. She is a recipient of the American Jewish Committee's Judge Learned Hand Award and was named one of the Asia Society's Game Changers of 2019. Earlier in her career she was named a Young Global Leader by the World Economic Forum. Ms. Saeed received her J.D. magna cum laude from Harvard Law School and her B.A. in Economics and Molecular Biology with Highest Distinction from the University of California at Berkeley, where she was elected to Phi Beta Kappa.



STEVEN M. COHEN For over 30 years, Steven M. Cohen has served as counselor and legal advisor in the public and private sector. He currently serves as Chairman of Empire State Development and operates an advisory consulting firm. Until recently, Steve was General Counsel and Chief Administrative Officer of MacAndrews & Forbes Incorporated. Prior to that, Steve served as Secretary to New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, in addition to serving as Counselor and Chief of Staff in the Office of the New York Attorney General under Attorney General Cuomo. While in the Cuomo Administration, Steve spearheaded the successful efforts to pass the Marriage Equality Act in 2011. In private

practice, Steve has represented a wide array of corporations and individuals in complex commercial, criminal, and regulatory matters. During his time in private practice, Steve championed the decade long effort to reverse the convictions of David Lemus and Olmedo Hidalgo, who had been wrongfully convicted of the Palladium Nightclub murder. For his role in the case, Steve was honored by the NYS Bar Association as Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year. Early in his career, Steve was an Assistant U.S. Attorney and the Chief of the Violent Gangs Unit in the U.S. Attorney's Office for the Southern District of New York. In that position, Steve was responsible for investigating the most violent criminal organizations in New York City. Steve received his B.A. from New York University and his J.D. from the University of Pennsylvania Law School. He is a member of the New York University Board of Trustees, University of Pennsylvania Law School Board of Overseers, Bank Leumi USA Board of Directors and Whole Earth Brands Board of Directors. He currently serves as the Co-Chair of NY Forward (Governor Cuomo's re-opening taskforce), NY Trustee of the Gateway Development Corporation and previously served as the Vice Chairman of the Port Authority of NY & NJ. Steve is also the co-chair of Maccabi U.S.A. Hockey and twice played on the U.S.A. Masters Hockey team in the Maccabi Games.

Honoring Faiza Saeed

Faiza Saeed
Presiding Partner, Cravath,
Swaine & Moore LLP
Steven M. Cohen
Chair, Empire State
Development

AND



## **LUNCHEON SPONSORS**

#### SUPREME COURT

Alan Levine & Alison Newman Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP Kirkland & Ellis LLP Morgan Stanley Sullivan & Cromwell LLP Robert S. Rifkind

#### **US CONSTITUTION**

Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP Marilyn & Jeffrey Katzenberg

#### **SCALES OF JUSTICE**

Comcast Corporation
Holwell Shuster & Goldberg LLP
Innisfree M & A Incorporated
Invemed Associates Inc.
Joele Frank, Wilkinson Brimmer Katcher
Kramer, Levin, Naftalis & Frankel LLP
Las Vegas Sands
Scott Edelman/Milbank LLP
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP
Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Schultz Family Foundation

#### **RULE OF LAW**

Alliance Building Services
Cooley LLP
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer
Morvillo Abramowitz Grand Iason & Anello PC
Matt Furman

#### **COURT OF APPEALS**

Bank Leumi USA
Cornerstone Research
Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
Dechert LLP
Fried, Frank, Harris, Striver & Jacobson LLP
Gladstone Place Partners
Proskauer Rose LLP
Watchell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz LLP



# **LUNCHEON CONTRIBUTORS**

Allan Brillant

Katherine Bruck

Bill Carter

RLP & Co.

Steven Eisenstadt

Michael Fricklas

May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation

Atlas Air Worldwide Holdings, Inc.

Robert Jossen

David Kelley

Robert & Sydney Kindler

Rainer Krause

Jeffrey Lynford

Sara E. Moss

Ronald Nelson

David E. Ross

Eric Roth

Ruder Finn, Inc.

John Siffert

Mark Thierfelder

Uria Menendez

Derek Winokur

Zwicker Electric Co. Inc.

(As of April 11, 2021)

Steven M. Cohen
Chair, Empire State
Development



## **JTS BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

Alan Levine, Chair

Abby Joseph Cohen, Chair Emerita

Mimi Alperin, Vice Chair

Daniel J. Beller, Esq., Vice Chair

Jonathan M. Lopatin, Vice Chair

Eric Rosen, Treasurer

Jonathan S. Aaron

Yale Asbell

Talya Bock

Lester Crown

Deborah Sosland-Edelman

Jeffrey Feig

Matt Furman

Marc Gary

Ned Gladstein

Debbi Kaner Goldich

Ruth Hendel

Robert Immerman

Harold B. Jacobsohn

Floy Brown Kaminski

Jay Kasner, Esq.

Alan Klein, Esq.

Lynette Koppel

Alan Leifer

Cantor David Lipp

Stephen J. Lovell

Sharon Nelles, Esq.

Aaron Priest

Robert Pruzan

Robert S. Rifkind, Esq.

Saul Sanders

Yoni Saposh

**Emily Scharfman** 

Tom Sudow

Stewart Vogel

Didi Wallerstein

Diane Wohl

Harold J. Wolfe, Esq.



## **JUDGE SIMON H. RIFKIND AWARD RECIPIENTS**

2020 John G. Finley

2020 Jonathan K. Youngwood

2019 Robert J. Giuffra Jr.

2018 Brad S. Karp

2017 Mark Abbott

2017 Bradley I. Ruskin

2016 Scott Edelman

2016 John Suydam

2015 Gary P. Naftalis

2014 Jay B. Kasner

2013 Vince DiBlasi (z"l)

2012 Evan R. Chesler

2011 Daniel J. Beller

2010 Lawrence B. Pedowitz

2009 Robert J. Jossen

2008 Theodore V. Wells Jr.

2007 Randy Mastro

2007 Keith Shapiro (Chicago)

2006 Mel M. Immergut

2006 Lee Miller (Chicago)

2005 Patricia M. Hynes

2004 Bettina B. Plevan

2003 Blaine (Fin) V. Fogg (z"l)

2002 Robert M. Morgenthau (z"l)

2002 Jerold S. Solovy (z'') (Chicago)

2001 Bernard Nussbaum

2000 Robert B. Fiske Jr.

1999 Matthew Nimetz

1998 Richard I. Beattie

1997 Stephen R. Volk

1996 Arthur L. Liman (z"l)